Print this Page

Territorial Planning Commission

The Territorial Planning Commission was statutorily created for the purpose of establishing a public review body that authorizes the territorial general plan program for American Samoa.  This Commission also is responsible to promote the general welfare of the territory’s citizens and create an orderly, healthy, and viable economic and living environments.

The Governor adopts the territorial general plan and any subdivisions of the Plan, by resolution of the Legislature shall ratify the plan and any subdivisions of the Plan.

The Territorial General Plan may be concerned particularly with industrial, commercial or agricultural development; with education, social services, housing, essential fire, water and electric utilities services, and with transportation, communications, recreation, conservation, cultural services and with other relevant aspects of life in American Samoa.

PAN_Utulei Park stage 7_11_08

In order that a comprehensive general plan may be developed for the Territory, it is desirable that any of its foregoing subjects be considered in terms of:

(1) defining existing problems, policies, and

(2) establishing goals;

(3) developing and evaluating the impact of alternative strategies;

(4) determining any necessary revisions to local decision-making processes; and

(5) developing an implementation plan, having broad-based community support, which defines priorities and assigns responsibilities for action


The Territorial General Plan shall be established for the following purposes:

(1) to promote the public health, safety, morals, convenience, comfort, prosperity and general welfare of the residents of American Samoa;

(2) to preserve a wholesome, serviceable and attractive community that increases the safety and security of home life;

(3) to prevent congestion, disorder and changes: and

(4) to prevent overcrowding, and other conditions which generally tend to diminish the well-being of residents.

(d) to accomplish the purposes stated in this section, the Territory is divided into 6 planning districts as stated in 10.0105 ASCA to promote the public health, safety, welfare and morals.

Permanent link to this article: